John Frieda Luxorious Volume Core Restore

I was invited to try the John Frieda Luxorious Volume Core Restore range free, via the BzzAgent website.

The range promises to ‘unlock a new level of Volume that lasts’ using its ‘innovative Protein Strength Complex’ which is applied in three stages:-

  • The Protein Infused shampoo
  • The Protein Infused conditioner
  • The Advanced Protein Volumiser

I was provided with full size samples, and have been using it over the last few weeks to see if it does what it promises. My hair is very fine, prone to breakage, and is long (between shoulder and elbow length). It looks okay when I wear it down, in fact, it can look quite thick straight after washing and blow drying, but I feel my ponytails are a bit thin, and as for pigtails, they are pretty much non-existent. As for the couple of days between washing, well, it’s a flop. So you can imagine how excited I was to try this range.

First impressions were good. I like the colour of the packaging, but was intrigued by the fact that the conditioner bottle was clear; it’s usually the other way around.

THE SHAMPOO

The shampoo is a white coloured, almost cream like product, that lathers very well. You really don’t need a lot to feel like your hair is being cleaned. Despite this, it rinses out really well, and left my hair feeling smooth and soft, which is the opposite of most shampoos I’ve used. 

One thing I didn’t like was the fragrance. I can’t put my finger on what it is, but it really does get up my nose, literally and actually. I think the closest I could describe is a cross between hair colour and fake tan. Thankfully, it doesn’t linger.






THE CONDITIONER

The conditioner is like nothing I’ve used before; it is a clear gel. The first couple of times I used it, it didn’t feel as though it gave good coverage, and I thought I was breaking my hair applying it through from the roots to tips. I wasn’t, but that’s how it felt. I persevered, and over time it has become easier to use.

The real difference between this product and other conditioners I have used, is that it left my hair feeling squeaky clean after rinsing. It rinsed out really well, and didn’t need a lot of shower time, but I did feel as though I had washed my hair in the wrong order!

The fragrance is nicer than the shampoo, but again, it doesn’t seem to linger. I can’t pinpoint what exactly it is.



THE VOLUMISER

This product is applied to towel dry hair, and before blow drying, obviously. Three pumps are recommended, but it does say some people need more. Three pumps is perfectly fine for me, and my hair!

It has a nice, smooth texture, and despite the feeling of my squeaky clean hair, I had no problems in applying it to my hair.

This product claims to be heat activated, and over time, builds up strength and volume. The first part is vital. If, like me, you occasionally leave your hair to dry naturally, you’ll end up with crispy hair (don’t worry, it does brush out and leaves your hair feeling smooth). If you follow the instructions, though, I found my hair did look fuller. Whether it was down to the product, or drying my hair upside down (I haven’t done that since I was a teen), I’m not sure.

I liked this product, as other products that promise to thicken hair end up making my roots greasy looking a lot quicker than not using them. They also tend to just lift the roots, which is great just after blow drying, but starts to look and feel flat soon after. Heaven forbid windy weather!

Unlike other products I use more regularly, my hair did need a careful brushing after drying. It did tangle a bit, but once brushed through, it was manageable. My hair still had a nice shine to it (the benefit of really straight hair). The jury is out on the breakage; it still feels weak when I do two Dutch plaits (my favourite running hairstyle), but the plug hole isn’t as clogged as with some other brands, after washing. It’s not up with the best products, however, which to be fair, are premium brands.

Most importantly, my hair looked fuller from root to tip. The more that I’ve used this range, the more thicker and fuller my hair is looking and feeling. The cynic in me thinks that it is coating my hair, rather than working its magic, but I can’t complain about the results so far. My pigtails are still disappointing, but Dutch plaits are looking very much better. I still have more left, so whether I’m a convert remains to be seen, but so far, I’m impressed. The only criticism, apart from the scent, is that my hair is more prone to tangling, but it’s not the worst product range for that. I wouldn’t discount this range on that basis alone.

As stated above, I got this product to try for free with BzzAgent, but it is available now in shops.

Leave a Reply

